Vulnerability 

Since getting back into blogging, I have started to share my blog in social media. If you are reading this and wasn’t aware of my blogging then I would direct you to my first post and invite you to move forward with me.

For me, this type of sharing leaves me completely transparent to everyone, regardless of our relationship.  This type of transparency makes me a bit nervous, as for years I have struggled to fit into so many different versions of myself depending on the audience. I am a natural born people pleaser, as many of us are,  and as a recovering people pleasing addict, it can be incredibly hard to be yourself regardless of the audience.  Allowing the world to see the real me, is me being vulnerable and that can be scary, but it can also be awesome. 

Vulnerability is the birthplace of love, belonging, joy, courage, empathy, and creativity. It is the source of hope, empathy, accountability, and authenticity. If we want greater clarity in our purpose or deeper and more meaningful spiritual lives, vulnerability is the path 

― Brené Brown, Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead

I love Brene Brown, it may be my Sociology background but I really do relate to her material.  I think so many of us, myself included, are afraid to be vulnerable.  What if I put myself out there, no holding back for fear of what you think? What if I treated every person exactly the same and let them in my life instead of building up walls? What if I admitted I didn’t know the answer or that I do have limitations? What would happen if I acted from a place of deep love and connection for everyone?  Sure that all sounds good but what if they reject me?  What if they don’t respond with the same love, kindness and compassion?  But what if they did? How awesome would that be?!

Here’s the thing everyone is moving through life at various paces, you will get some grumpy people for sure, and I  have my grumpy moments just like everyone else; but instead of searching for the rejections, what if I  searched for the acceptance? What if I found it- how awesome would life be?!  In my life that’s all I’m looking for, to be surrounded by love, kindness and compassion.   

You know when you are having a great day, everything keeps getting awesome or when your having a bad day it just keeps going to crap because you’re stuck in that mode only. If you want to be in a happy spot, you probably won’t get there by being miserable.   It’s not always that simple, I get that, but it often is.  By allowing yourself to be vulnerable your opening yourself up to other people doing the exact same thing. By allowing yourself to be vulnerable you are welcoming connections that you may have never experienced before – they could totally suck, but what if they were awesome?!

So here I am. This is the literary equivalency of me standing naked in front a room to speak, but hey maybe I’ll make a new friend who likes my tattoo (Don’t worry mom, there is no tattoo).

❤️

One thought on “Vulnerability 

  1. I can relate to this. Blogging can be so freeing and also terrifying. I’m trying to get over my people pleasing nature and trying to just blog honestly without worrying what people will think. Yet I still don’t advertise my blog on social media. Not quite ready for that yet. The link is there, so I’m not hiding it, but I’m not looking for anyone’s approval so I’m okay with not putting it out there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

