A New Today

In order to really connect with people you have to be raw, you need to let your guard down and be human.  I think in order to really connect it helps if both parties are in that place.  Does it leave yourself incredibly vulnerable to be so raw? Yes, but as I have posted here before,you may risk disspaointment, but you could also gain everything. 

It has taken me years to get to the spot I am today. It has taken a lot of struggles, depressions, anxieties and self perceived notions that I have battled through, some places were very dark but they pulled me through to the light; and for that I am truly grateful.

I am not perfect, but I am really seeing that no one is, we all struggle, we all have some dark places we go to.  I have been in dark places and I will be there again, but each time I go there I feel a little bit better equipped, I don’t stay down quite as long.  When you get to a place like that you really feel it’s weight, and a little piece of it sticks with you but it doesn’t need to be you, only shape your experience. 

Today I realize that even those close to you, can remain quite far.  I realized today, that everyone goes through these dark places. My big realization today came when I understood that a lot of people in my life who I thought weren’t like minded and that they brought out characteristics in me that I didn’t like we’re in fact just like me and the only person bringing that out in myself, was me.  No one is perfect, and no one likes every single personality trait another has but you can love a person whole, traits and all.  Looking past that you can see connection, you can see and more importantly feel love and that happens when you drop down your guard and allow yourself to be vulnerable.

Today I have realized that the only person I need to forgive is myself, and that I am connected through everyone with love. My perceived wrongs were simply that – perceived, and I have wasted a lot of time being angry at really myself for nothing but perceptions.  Who I am is exactly who I am and that won’t and shouldn’t change for anyone, and people do love me for me and I should as well. 

Today I let down my guards were let down and experiences were whole, which produced nothing but beauty. Today I was my true self with someone whom I was afraid wouldn’t see me, but what I found was that I was met not only with love but with the same compassion and vulnerability as I provided. 

Today I learned, today I grew, and today I experienced.

One thought on “A New Today

  1. Beautiful post! And like you mentioned we all have these dark places, we are all in the same boat. Enlightenment is knowing yourself, be yourself, live yourself. It’s looks the hardest thing, but it is the easiest thing there is, just like breating, you are you! Keep on shining, it is contagious, the world needs that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

