Releasing the Past

I had lunch today with a few people who I used to work with.  I realized today that it has been three years since I quit my job and started this part of my life. One of them asked if I had any regrets and honestly, I have none. I don’t have a single regret about quitting my job and staying home with my kids.

On my way to the lunch I realized that I was a little apprehensive.  I was concerned that all those insecurities, those anxieties that I used to experience around these people would surface again and perhaps I wouldn’t enjoy this lunch as much as I would have liked to. I arrived feeling a little anxious but that quickly passed and I sat down and sunk into myself.

I was able to be myself without any restrictions or anxieties, it was refreshing. I actually had a great time and sincerely look forward to the next time.  That’s when it hit me, I have released the path and can look back now with love instead of contempt and angst.

Time heals all wounds.

Now I look back with a happy detachment. That life before wasn’t right for me, but that doesn’t make it wrong, it just makes it wrong for me. I learned a lot from it and now can move forward in love.

 

 

Leave a Reply

