My feminine voice 

In a past life I must have been a feminist activist who fought hard to have the female voice heard.  I am so incredibly passionate about women’s rights today, it’s in a way that I don’t even understand fully. It may seem ironic to some people that I’m a stay at home mom but in my opinion feminism includes the right to choose whatever they want to do in life and an equality in such. For me that choice is to stay at home with my children, it’s not  about my gender but about my personal preference, many people I interact with are men who stay at home with their family as well, so don’t think my world is that of just women.

I feel so passionate about women’s choice and women’s rights that even the simplest things such as a friend not having the opportunity to attend something due to family commitments can often leave me to pause and get a little angry for her, regardless of the situation or if it’s warranted, I just have this passion that is strong.  I don’t really understand it myself but there is something deep inside myself that’s just a little bit stronger than some  in terms of the feeling of oppression. In fact a lot of my resentment steams from a feeling of oppression that comes from my gender.

I feel for so many different women in so many different ways and I am so passionate about them taking time for themselves as mothers and for standing strong and true in their feminine voice. I have only recently found my feminine voice and it’s pretty quiet right now but I hope with time to turn up the volume and stand so strong and true within it.

Inequality among women still exists, oppression still exists, rape culture is real and our society doesn’t often shed a positive light in our direction but that’s why we must shine it on ourselves. Today has been eye opening because I understand just how important the feminine voice is and how desperately it needs to be heard. Today and everyday I will promise to tap into my feminine voice and lift all women up instead of down.  Today we stand strong together, to love each other, nurture each other and grow and the only way we can grow together is with love. 

Marti  Luther King Jr: “Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” “I have decided to stick to love…Hate is too great a burden to bear.”

Leave a Reply

