New Year

Today is a new year and I am a firm believer in new year resolutions. It’s not the only time of the year you can refocus and recommit but there is a great energy in a new year to refocus so why not take advantage of it and resolve something in your life.

Right now in 2017 I have decided that my New Years resolution is effort, to bring just a little bit more effort into my life. Personally, I am always expecting someone to save me, running away from problems or life, and always hoping that I won’t have to do anything but expecting everything to be done for me. Great things can and do happen in my life but they take a little bit of effort on my part.

What does a New Years resolution of effort look like? It is adding a little bit more effort into everything and that in turn adds a lot of love to myself, essentially I am letting myself know that I am wonderful and I am worth it. A little bit more effort in eating well,  a little bit more effort when I cook, a little bit more effort when I exercise, a little bit more effort when I parent, a little bit more effort in my relationships, a little bit more effort in love, a little more effort in time for myself, a little more effort in daily mediation practices, a little more effort in me, a little bit more effort in everything I do but instead of doing it in a – “work harder because you need to”, it’s more of a “give a bit more effort because you deserve it”,  a little more effort says I am worth it, it is an effort in love.

2017 I am done with my “have-to’s” and “should do’s”, and want to enrich my life with a bit more effort in love. There is no schedule, there is no direction, there is just a little more effort on my part, in a place of love.

Leave a Reply

